RAAHC Banner
Defence Honours and Awards
Military Medal
Artillery recipients of this Award are listed at the bottom of the page.      
Military Medal

Military Medal (M.M.)

The Military Medal was (until 1993) a military decoration awarded to personnel of the British Army and other services, and formerly also to personnel of other Commonwealth countries, below commissioned rank, for bravery in battle on land.

The medal was established on 25 March 1916. It was the other ranks' equivalent to the Military Cross (MC), which was awarded to commissioned officers and rarely to Warrant Officers, although WOs could also be awarded the MM. The MM ranked below the MC and the Distinguished Conduct Medal, which was also awarded to non-commissioned members of the Army, in order of precedence. Recipients of the Military Medal are entitled to use the post-nominal letters "MM". In 1993, the Military Medal was discontinued, and since then the Military Cross has been awarded to personnel of all ranks.

Post Nominals

Recipients of the Medal for Gallantry are entitled to the postnominal letters ‘MM’. Recipients of a bar to the MM add ‘and Bar’ to the postnominal.

Druitt Robert Mayo Bombardier 1st Australian Siege Brigade
Dwyer John George Sergeant 1st Australian Siege Brigade
Frame Walter Henry Corporal 21st Field Artillery Brigade 1916
Henry Walter Bombardier  
Hudson Wilbert   2nd Australian AA Battery
Jackson John Angus Bombardier  
Maher Peter Lance Bombardier A Field Battery 1971
Marchant Roby Bombardier 6th Field Artillery Brigade 1916
Stephens John Sergeant 12 Field Regiment 1968
Williams Michael Bernard Patrick Gunner 4th Field Regiment 1968
Wombey Fred   14th Australian HAA Bty

© Royal Australian Artillery Historical Company - All Rights Reserved