RAAHC Banner
Defence Honours and Awards
Distinguished Conduct Medal
Artillery recipients of this Award are listed at the bottom of the page.      
Distinguished Conduct Medal (D.C.M.)

Distinguished Conduct Medal (D.C.M.)

Created in 1854 by Queen Victoria and awarded to non-commissioned officers and other ranks of the Army for 'distinguished conduct in action in the field'. From 1942 members of the Navy and the Air Force were eligible for service on the ground. The Medal was discontinued in 1993. Recipients of the award are entitled to use the post-nominal DCM. The ribbon is of crimson with a dark blue central stripe about one-third of the width of the ribbon. The last award to an Australian was made in 1972 arising from the Vietnam War. Since the Boer War, the Medal has been awarded to 2071 members of the Army and three members of the Air Force. Thirty first Bars have been awarded, all to members of the Army. The majority of the Bars came from incidents in the First World War.

In the aftermath of the 1993 review of the honours system, as part of the drive to remove distinctions of rank in awards for bravery, the DCM was discontinued (along with the award of the DSO specifically for gallantry and of the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal). These three decorations were replaced by the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross, which now serves as the second level award for gallantry for all ranks across the whole armed forces.

Bars were awarded to the DCM in recognition of the performance of further acts of gallantry meriting the award.

Post Nominals

Recipients are entitled to the post-nominal letters DCM.


Egan T. Warrant Officer Class Two AATTV
Robinson Arthur Warrant Officer Class Two AATTV 1968

© Royal Australian Artillery Historical Company - All Rights Reserved