RAAHC Banner
Defence Honours and Awards
Conspicuous Gallantry Medal
Artillery recipients of this Award are listed at the bottom of the page.      
Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (C.G.M.)

Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (C.G.M.)

The Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (CGM) was, until 1993, a military decoration awarded to personnel of the British Armed Forces (and from September 1942 to personnel of the Merchant Navy of rank equivalent to that of Petty Officer or Seaman) and formerly also to personnel of other Commonwealth countries, below commissioned rank, for conspicuous gallantry in action against the enemy at sea or in the air.

The original Royal Navy medal was instituted briefly in 1855, and fully on 7 July 1874. During World War II, the Royal Air Force medal - the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal (Flying) - was added, from 1943.

The Medal was the other ranks' equivalent of the Distinguished Service Order when awarded for bravery to commissioned officers, although it ranked well below that in order of precedence, between the Distinguished Conduct Medal and the Distinguished Service Medal.

In 1993, the Conspicuous Gallantry Medal, Distinguished Service Order (when awarded specifically for gallantry) and Distinguished Conduct Medal were all replaced by the Conspicuous Gallantry Cross (CGC). The CGC is tri-service and is awarded to all ranks. It is second only to the Victoria Cross for bravery in action.

Post Nominals

Recipients of the Conspicuous Service Medal are entitled to the postnominal letters ‘CGM’.


© Royal Australian Artillery Historical Company - All Rights Reserved