RAAHC Banner
Defence Honours and Awards
Bravery Medal
Artillery recipients of this Award are listed at the bottom of the page.      
Bravery Medal

Bravery Medal

Like the Cross of Valour and the Star of Courage the Bravery Medal was instituted on February 14th of 1975. It is awarded only for acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances to both the military or civilians.

The Bravery Medal is a bronze medal ensigned with the Crown of Saint Edward in bronze and surmounted by the shield and crest of the Arms of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Medal is suspended from a ribbon by a bar inscribed "FOR BRAVERY". The ribbon is 32 millimetres wide and has 15 alternating stripes of blood-red and magenta representing the colours of venous and arterial blood.

The Bravery Medal may be awarded posthumously and ranks after the Star of Courage but before the Commendation for Brave Conduct.

Awards of the Bravery Medal are usually gazetted twice yearly. Most have been awarded to civilians but a number have been awarded to service personnel for incidents that occurred both on and off duty.



© Royal Australian Artillery Historical Company - All Rights Reserved