Royal Regiment of Australian Artillery Honorary Appointments

Colonels Commandant Establishment

The Honorary Colonel concept was ad hoc until 1955 when a Colonel Commandant was appointed in each State. This was promulgated as follows:

"The Military Board has considered the scale of appointment, duties and privileges of Honorary Colonels / Colonels Commandant. Military Board Instruction 186 dated 28 Sep 56 on this subject has been issued."

Review and Revised Structure

During 2016 - 2019 the RCC and HOR implemented a review of the role and support provided by the long-standing existing Colonels Commandant structure. The outcome saw a move away from geographically state based appointments and the adoption of a dedicated Colonel Command for each RAA Regiment. One of these CC will continue to be appointed concurrently as the Representative Colonel Commandant.

RAA Colonels Commandant (15 June 1955 – 16 February 2019)

Queensland

- 5 Aug 1958 22 Sep 1963 Northern Command BRIG CH Wilson, ED, RL
- 23 Sep 1963 15 Oct 1965 Northern Command MAJGEN HGF Harlock, CBE, RL
- 16 Oct 1965 31 Dec 1969 Northern Command MAJGEN DR Kerr CBE, ED, RL
- 1 Jan 1970 14 Mar 1974 Northern Command Brigadier CC Thomas ED, RL
- 15 Mar 1974 13 Apr 1978 1st Military District Colonel GW Kerruish, ED, RL
- 14 Apr 1978 14 Mar 1982 1st Military District BRIG CTW Dixon, RL
- 15 Mar 1982 16 July 1986 1st Military District BRIG PJ Norton, RL
- 17 July 1986 16 July 1992 1st Military District COL PC Jones (Retd)
- 17 Jul 1992 22 Jun 1996 1st Military District COL D Quinn, AM (Retd)
- 23 Jun 1996 30 Nov 2002 Northern Region LTCOL KR Hall (Retd)
- 1 Dec 2002 3 Dec 2008 Northern Region COL (Hon) AR Burke, OAM (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2008 3 Dec 2011 Northern Region BRIG MF Paramor, AM (Retd)

- 4 Dec 2011 3 Dec 2015 Northern Region COL ST Goltz
- 4 Dec 2015 16 Feb 2019 Northern Region Vacant

New South Wales & Australian Capital Territory

- 15 Jun 1955 31 Dec 60 Eastern Command LTGEN Sir Frank Berryman, KCVO, CB, CBE, DSO
- 1 Jan 1961 31 Dec 1966- Eastern Command BRIG FB McAlister, CBE, ED, RL
- 31 Mar 1967 31 Aug 1969 Eastern Command BRIG PWA Kelso, ED, RL
- 1 Sep 1969 31 Aug 1973 Eastern Command BRIG AG Hanson, DSO, ED, RL
- 1 Sep 1973 10 Jun 1978 2nd Military District BRIG Sir John Pagan, CMG, MBE, CStJ, ED, RL
- 11 Jun 1978 9 Jun 1984 2nd Military District MAJGEN J Whitelaw, AO, CBE, RL
- 10 Jun 1984 25 Mar 1990 2nd Military District MAJGEN P Falkland, AO, RL
- 31 Mar 1990 13 Mar 1996 2nd Military District MAJGEN RG Fay, AO, RFD, ED (Retd)
- 14 Mar 1996 30 Nov 2000 Eastern Region BRIG GT Salmon, AM (Retd)
- 1 Dec 2000 14 Feb 2006 Eastern Region COL DM Tait, OAM (Retd)
- 15 Feb 2006 30 June 2010 Eastern Region COL AT Piercy (Retd)
- 1 Jul 2010 16 Feb 2019 Eastern Region COL IF Ahearn (Retd)

Victoria

- 15 Sep 1955 31 Dec 1960 Southern Command MAJGEN JS Whitelaw, CB, CBE
- 1 Jan 1961 31 Dec 1966 Southern Command BRIG AE Arthur, DSO, ED
- 24 Jan 1967 16 Dec 1971 Southern Command BRIG Sir William Hall, CBE, DSO, ED, RL
- 17 Dec 1971 16 Feb 1976 Southern Command MAJGEN CE Long CBE, RL
- 17 Feb 1976 16 Feb 1980 3rd Military District MAJGEN His Hon Judge NA Vickery, CBE, MC, ED, RL
- 17 Feb 1980 13 Mar 1984 3rd Military District MAJGEN JM McNeill, AO, OBE, ED, RL

- 14 Mar 84 13 Mar 1988 3rd Military District BRIG KV Rossi, OBE, RFD, ED, RL
- 14 Mar 1988 13 Mar 1992 3rd Military District MAJGEN JD Stevenson, AO, CBE, RL
- 14 Mar 1992 13 Mar 1996 3rd Military District MAJGEN J Barry, AM, MBE, RFD, ED (Retd)
- 14 Mar 1996 22 Apr 2002 Southern Region BRIG G Standish, AM, RFD, ED, RL
- 23 Apr 2002 3 Dec 2008 Southern Region BRIG DI Perry, OAM, RFD, ED (Retd)
- 4 Dec 20008 3 Dec 2012 Southern Region BRIG ND Graham, AM (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2012 16 Feb 2019 Southern Region BRIG P Alkemade, RFD (Retd)

South Australia & Northern Territory

- 15 Jun 1955 31 Dec 1960 Central Command BRIG TC Eastick, CMG, DSO, ED
- 1 Jan 1961 31 Dec 1965 Central Command MAJGEN AG Wilson, CBE, DSO
- 1 Jan 1966 31 Dec1971 Central Command LTCOL Sir James C Irwin, KBE, OBE, ED, RL
- 1 Jan 1972 31 Dec 1975 Central Command BRIG The Hon Mr Justice GEH Bleby, OBE, ED, RL
- 17 Feb 1976 3 Sep 1979 4th Military District BRIG HJ Feening, ED, RL
- 4 Sep 1979 30 Aug 1983 LTCOL SG Kingwell, MBE, RL
- 31 Aug 1983 30 Aug 1989 4th Military District COL LT Olsson, MBE, RFD, ED, RL
- 31 Aug 1989 31 Dec 1995 4th Military District LTCOL DN Brook, OAM (Retd)
- 1 Jan 1996 14 Apr 2005 Central Region LTCOL JP Derbyshire (Retd)
- 15 Apr 2005 3 Dec 2009 Central Region LTCOL RJ Foster (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2009 3 Dec 2012 Central Region MAJ GS Laurie RFD (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2012 16 Feb 2019 Central Region COL SR Carey, RFD

Western Australia

- 15 Jun 1955 31 Dec 1960 Western Command H/COL AJ Hobbs, ED
- 1 Jan 1961 31 Dec 1967 Western Command COL AL Rodgers, ED
- 1 Jan 1968 8 Oct 1974 Western Command BRIG RM Davis, ED
- 9 Oct 1974 31 Dec 1978 5th Military District BRIG DJ Collins, ED, RL
- 1 Jan 1979 23 Oct 1985 - 5th Military District COL GWM Earnshaw, ED, RL
- 24 Oct 1985 20 Oct 1991 5th Military District COL DL Rae, AM, RFD, ED, RL
- 21 Oct 91- 16 Sep 1995 5th Military District COL RN Gair, MBE (Retd)
- 17 Sep 1995 31 May 2001 Western Region MAJ RS Bird, RFD, ED
- 1 Jun 2001 3 Dec 2006 Western Region BRIG RA Lawler, AM (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2006 3 Dec 2010 Western Region MAJ WA Ritchie (Retd)
- 4 Dec 2010 16 Feb 2019 Western Region BRIG A G Warner, AM, LVO (Retd)

Tasmania Region

- 15 Jun 1955 14 Jun 1965 Tasmania Command H/BRIG HW Strutt, DSO, ED, RL
- 15 Jun 1965 6 Mar 1966 Tasmania Command COL GAD Youl, MC, CdrG, RL
- 7 Mar 1966 6 Mar 1972 Tasmania Command COL CM Fotheringham, ED, RL
- 7 Mar 1972 5 Mar 1976 Tasmania Command LTCOL The Hon Mr Justice G Crawford, RL
- $6~\mathrm{Mar}~1976-13~\mathrm{Apr}~1978$ $6\mathrm{th}~\mathrm{Military}~\mathrm{District}$ LTCOL The Hon Sir George Crawford, KT, RL
- 14 Apr 1978 5 Mar 1980 6th Military District COL RO Brown, AM, RFD, ED, RL
- 13 Mar 1980 12 March 1984 6th Military District CAPT FJ Gunn, MBE, RL
- 13 Mar 1984 12 Mar 1990 6th Military District COL RO Brown, AM, RFD, ED, RL
- 13 Mar 90 31 Jul 1993 6th Military District LTCOL MG Langley, MC (Retd)
- 1 Aug 1993 2 Aug 1997 LTCOL Chief Justice The Hon WJE Cox, AC, RFD, ED, QC

3 Aug 1997 - 30 Nov 2001 - Tasmania Region - COL P Patmore, AM, RFD, ED, JP

1 Dec 2001 - 12 Apr 2006 - Tasmania Region - LTCOL MA Cameron, RFD

13 Apr 2006 – 16 Feb 2019 – Tasmania Region - COL SR Carey, RFD

Revised Colonel Commandant System (Established on 17 February 2019)

Colonel Commandant School of Artillery

17 Feb 2019 - Currently serving - COL ST Goltz

Colonel Commandant 1st Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 – Currently serving - BRIG S (Don) Roach, AM (Retd)

Colonel Commandant 4th Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 - Currently serving - LTGEN GC Bilton, AO, CSC

Colonel Commandant 8th/12th Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 – Currently serving – BRIG GW Finney, OAM (Retd)

Colonel Commandant 9th Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 - Currently serving - BRIG NT Sweeney, AM

Colonel Commandant 16th Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 - Currently serving - COL JB MacLean, CSC

Colonel Commandant 20th Regiment RAA

17 Feb 2019 – Currently Serving – COL (Hon.) PR Swinsburg

Authors Note: The RCC and CC lists were researched and compiled by Major DT (Terry) Brennan, SO to HOR, during 2018 and 2019. The primary sources for the names of appointment holders and the period they served in their respective appointments were the Commonwealth / Australian Government Gazette and the RAA Liaison Letter.